Healthy Bulking Diet (So Far)

Here has been my general diet for the past few months. Once again, I would recommend eating healthy food to bulk instead of junk food because you’ll avoid malaise and lack of energy. I will generally prepare my food for the next day the night before just to save time. Also, you’d be more inclined to eat more if the food was delicious. So learn how to cook. I’ll post some of my more creative recipes later (not of the ones written below). In total, I eat over 3000 calories a day. I don’t meticulously record every calorie I eat, but I know I’m eating enough because I’ve been consistently gaining weight every week (1-2 pounds per week).

*FYI, for the breakfast smoothie, I used a small blender I found on Amazon. It has a travel lid so that you can take it on the go. I find this particularly useful because I can drink my smoothie in the car on my way to class, and I’m usually in a rush. Here is the one I bought for $17.28:

Hamilton Beach Single Serve Blender

**For breakfast, you can either drink the smoothie (Breakfast 1) or sit down and have an actual breakfast. I just drank a calorie-heavy smoothie because it saved time. On the weekends, I’ll actually cook breakfast (listed as Breakfast 2).


Breakfast 1 (8AM)**

  • Homemade Protein Smoothie* (more recipes here)
    • 1-2 bananas chopped
    • 1 cup whole fat Greek yogurt
    • 3 tablespoons of honey roasted peanut butter (or whatever PB you like)
    • 2% fat milk filled to the top of the blender

OR

Breakfast 2 (8AM)

  • Omelete
    • 3 egg whites
    • 2 eggs
    • spinach
    • diced ham
    • diced onion
    • cheese
  • whole wheat bagel with cream cheese
  • 1 glass of milk
  • 1 small cup of yogurt

1st Lunch (eaten around 11AM)

  • 2 baked chicken thighs with mojito lime seasoning
  • 1 whole chopped broccoli head (microwaved)
    • Place chopped broccoli in a bowl and cover with saran wrap. Microwave for one to two minutes. Add minimal salt & pepper.
  • 1-2 cups of sweet brown rice

2nd Lunch (eaten around 2 PM)

  • Simple turkey (or ham) sandwich
    • whole wheat bread
    • honey baked turkey (or ham) deli slices
    • one whole avocado sliced
    • 2 slices of any cheese (I use Asiago)
    • tomato (optional)
    • handful or spinach
  • 1 small cup of yogurt (I like Activia)

Dinner

  • 2 baked chicken thighs (seasoned however you like)
  • 1 whole chopped broccoli head
  • two cups of brown rice
  • 1 half filet of baked cod with lemon
  • Eat lots of fruit after dinner too (oranges, blueberries, strawberries, melons, etc.)

Post workout (after 8PM for me)

  • Homemade Protein Smoothie*
    • 1-2 bananas chopped
    • 1 cup whole fat Greek yogurt
    • 3 tablespoons of honey roasted peanut butter (or whatever PB you like)
    • 2% fat milk filled to the top of the blender

If you don’t drink your protein shake at night after dinner, I would recommend drinking another about 1-2 hrs before bed. Don’t go to bed hungry.


This is an easy diet to keep up with when you are starting out. Feel free to switch it up, and find what works for you. The idea is to spread out your meals throughout the day.I didn’t feel the need to eat snacks in between my meals. However, if you feel like you are going to be hungry soon, immediately grab something to snack on. Hunger is a nightmare for an ectomorph. Here’s what will happen:

Once you feel hungry, you’re body will attempt to reestablish homeostasis by first producing glucose from proteins, fats, and glycogen stored in your liver (glycogen is stored only to last a few hours). Ectomorphs don’t have much fat to begin with so more protein will likely be broken down. If the hunger continues, the protein from your muscles will be broken down at a faster rate. So stay fed!


My meals change every now and then because I’ll get really bored of eating the same thing over and over again. I’m always finding new recipes to cook and new foods to try, so I’ll continue to post changes to my meal plan with better food in the future. If you’re a beginner, I would recommend starting with the meal plan above.

 

 

Leave a Reply

